30 Until 30

With less than 30 days until my birthday, I was really excited to write a blog post about how I’m going to spend the next 30 days. My plan included: fitness every day, eating clean, laughing, movies, music and more. Last weekend we were camping and had a great weekend. We hiked, swam, floated and had a really nice time at Birkenhead Lake and Mosquito Lake. Sunday, Shayne and I were talking about the forest fires and what to take if we got evacuated. The answer was: cats, laptops, money and valuables (whatever that means). 

Before bed we were talking about how great our little life together was with the camper and the new paint job in the bedroom and the cats….

I was suddenly awakened around midnight (not sure how) and noticed a neon orange glow out of the bedroom window. I didn’t know where Shayne was but I did see a HUGE FIRE coming from a home a few doors down. I’m not going to go into much details but Shayne was fighting the fire in his slippers, I was saving 1 cat and some valuables (Duffy hid under the bed), running around helping people and a lot of things were put into perspective for me.

We are SO LUCKY that nothing happened to our property and that no one was harmed in the fire. If there was wind, things could have been a lot worse.

Here are a few things that made me rethink my last 30ish days of being 29:

·Tell the people around you that you love them.

·Don’t take anything for granted because in as little as 15 minutes all of your belongings can disappear.

·Things are just things and can be replaced but lives are irreplaceable.

· The power of community is a strong force that elevates you from neighbors to family in a time of crisis.

· What you may think is important may not be. For example, I still have my “blankie” from when I was born and I didn’t even think to grab it when I was evacuated.

·Life can change in a snap. This may cause a permanent change in your soul and you need to accept it (and possibly get therapy).  

Everyone is lucky that they are alive and everyone will get back on their feet. The cause for the fire is still unknown and there are still many forest fires raging in the area. I PRAY FOR RAIN and that no one else is displaced this season.


   

              

Leave a Reply

