Up and Down

Something that I’ve been doing since I was a child is riding my bike. When I was younger, I lived in a townhouse and I would ride my bike in circles around the community.  Well, I wasn’t allowed to go to the farthest row and I did, once, and I got in trouble (perhaps, because my mom found me in a dumpster?). We eventually moved but I still rode my bike. As I got older, I would ride my bike with my friends. I’d ride to my best friend’s house and we would ride to school, Assiniboine Park and around River Heights, the area I grew up in. 

 

Sadly, at the age of 17, my “new” 1992 Sunbird replaced my bike and I could now commute all year long to farther destinations.

 

Fast-forward to a few years ago when I revived my love for biking upon my move to Pemberton. First, I rescued Spike the Bike who was sad and lonely in a lost and found. She’s from the 90’s and has a rad paint job. Not the safest, but it got me around town. Eventually, it was time for a new bike and so I bought Buck (a Norco bike)  and was now able to explore the trails.

 

The thing about biking in Pemberton is that we are surrounded by mountains. So, it was time for me to learn how to mountain bike meaning how to use my gears, go up a hill, down a hill and more. Luckily, I have Sylvie Allen to teach me and this week I went up and down my first little hill. Up is hard. Down is fast. It was fun.

 

I think this is the route we did was Baththub and TeePee to a dirt road by Lower Mackenzie (with a wooden bridge over train tracks) to a new trail by Airport Road to Caesar Trail.

 

Now, I know more routes and can go out and practice. I’m stoked to explore more of my backyard!

 

This is Buck:

  

Our awkward selfie at the top of my little hill:

  The view of Mt. Currie: 

 

One thought on “Up and Down

Leave a Reply

