My Love, Gym

Last week my father came to visit. We invited Shayne’s parents to join us for a night, so they could meet. I was hoping to have something funny to report on but all there was love and laughs so this week I’m going to talk to you about the new love of my life. His name is GYM.

I have been working out (off and on) since the age of 12 and once I moved to Vancouver I stopped going to the gym because 1) I walked everywhere and 2 )I was way to poor to afford a gym membership. However, since moving to Pemberton I have had a love-hate relationship with the gym. The “things” I liked to do weren’t available at the gym in town and I found working out more of a drag than fun.

I have come to the realization that I need to get into a different shape than the once I’m in and ski season is quickly approaching (I need to be in top shape for that). Both my lungs and muscles are NOT ready, as of today. So, I have decided to commit to going to the gym AT LEAST 5 days a week for a cardio and weight session (alternating between arms and back to legs and butt). Due to my stupid rib problem, I have to take it easy on me abs, but that is okay ( for now).

The things I didn’t like about the gym have changed since the last time I was there. They went from having 1 crappy elliptical trainer to having 2 good ones (and still 1 less-good one). They have also drastically increased the amount and quality of equipment. To be honest, the equipment that I used yesterday made working out really fun!

I’m still working on my “plan” and am open to suggestions for exercises using kettlebells and weights AND I’d love to know your favourite quad and glute moves.

So, this blog post is meant to openly share my goals and hold me accountable for going to the gym at least 5 times a week (when I’m in town). It is a great was for me to spend my time, listen to new music, get in shape and clear my mind/get creative. Who’s with me?

IMG_3167.PNG

One thought on “My Love, Gym

Leave a Reply

