MY FACE HURTS

Maybe it’s just the fact that I’m getting older or that I living in the mountains, away from the rainforest, but I am now the lucky person who gets eczema! It is always shows up on my face . Awesome. It only shows up in the winter and had gotten progressively worse over the past few years.

According to WebMDEczema is a term for a group of medical conditions that cause the skin to become inflamed or irritated. The most common type of eczema is known as atopic dermatitis, or atopic eczema. Atopic refers to a group of diseases with an often inherited tendency to develop other allergic conditions, such as asthma and hay fever.

Eczema affects about 10% to 20% of infants and about 3% of adults and children in the U.S. Most infants who develop the condition outgrow it by their tenth birthday, while some people continue to have symptoms on and off throughout life. With proper treatment, the disease often can be controlled.

I have asthma. Stupid asthma.

I woke up yesterday and looked like Hitch ( you know, when he has an allergic reaction!):20140319-130336.jpg

So, I went to the doctor and got given a prescription for Betaderm and Hyderm. I also had to switch my face wash and was told to use this magical cream called Glaxal Base.

images-3

According to the doctor, when using this cream I will have amazing skin and it’s the lotion that most seniors use to look young. I’m 28 so does that mean I will look 13? I’m also going back to no wheat or dairy products which is soooo hard because I love CHEESE! Not looking like Hitch is more important than cheese, so that is okay. I’m also working on drinking more water and hydrating from the inside out.

Do you have any tips on how to keep myself hydrated and fresh?

 

Leave a Reply

