Subscriptions Galore

So, to avoid spending many hours in front of the TV, I decided to get “a few” magazine subscriptions. Some I got on my own. Some were gifts. So, I shall tell you which ones I got and my thoughts on them. I do know, FOR A FACT, that I have way too many!

Vanity Fair – This is a great fashion and lifestyle magazine and I always enjoy their ads and articles. I will be renewing this one! It makes me feel fancy and fashionable (while I read it wearing plaid).

Style At Home– This was my first Pemberton subscription that I bought with a Groupon. I’m not crazy about it but I would read it if it were in a waiting room. It does have some great tips about decorating and stuff but I usually find that information on Pinterest.

Yoga Journal– This is good but I may trade it up for a new “healthy” magazine. After a few issues the content starts to feel the same and due to a rib injury my yoga life is on hold. Don’t get me wrong, I like this magazine but it’s not a “priority” for my coffee table.

National Geographic– This magazine is awesome. You don’t need to read it in order and if there is one around when you have company it usually sparks an interesting conversation. I also find this magazine a GREAT one to put in the bathroom. It’s full of interesting facts and pictures and everyone loves it.  The only problem is that it feels sacrilegious to throw them out but I have no room to keep them (but I do keep them in the bathroom, for now).

Fast Company– I feel that I will always have a subscription to this magazine. It inspires a “new breed of innovative and creative thought leaders.” I hope that I one day am that innovative and creative thought leader that is featured in that magazine. I LOVE IT! I actually read it word for word.

Chatelaine– I feel that every Canadian woman should experience a subscription to this magazine at least once in her life. After hearing Jane Fransisco speak at a WOW Event, I knew I had to jump on this train. I have memories of reading my mom’s Chatelaine as a young girl. It has great articles and recipes and I feel like I always learn something from them. I also wish I was related to Jane so she would give me a job.  I will try to always have this magazine on my subscription list.

Macleans This magazine comes once a week and I can’t keep up. I did notice that a lot of the articles are about politics but that might use be due to the Rob Ford “situation.” Having all of the other subscriptions I find it hard to stay on top of this one. I may or may not continue this one. However, I love that they pay tribute to a Canadian who has passed away, on the last page. I also feel like this magazine makes me smarter…..

So, what magazines do you subscribe to and do you think that I should get rid of any on the above list?

20131121-085604.jpg

Leave a Reply

