I’ve Been To Heaven

Skiing forces you to “suck it up!” You find a run too hard? Too bad. You can’t quit because you still need to get down the mountain and where else are you going to go? So really, there is no quitting.

When a significant other takes you, the beginner, skiing it can really test your relationships. Luckily, Shayne is very patient with me and my mad ski skills. He decided to finally ski with me.

Us.

Us.

Here are the facts/ highlights from Sunday:

  • I haven’t skied in 2 months making this my 6th time up there
  • Shayne is pretty much a pro skier
  • I have athletic endured asthma (sexy, I know)
  • Shayne’s a really good skier. I am not.
  • Went up Excalibur gondola on Blackcomb (my first time on this mountain)
  • Skied greens and cat tracks
  • Lunch that cost an arm and leg at Rendevouz
  • Skied 7th heaven cat track to 7th Heaven Express
  • Skied down Green, some blue (my first) and in some pow (also my first)
  • I fell a lot and my left knee and right breast are sore
  • Shayne said I yelled a lot at him but I’m just a loud human and was not yelling
  • I had to take many breaks
  • I survived and didn’t die
  • I rode the Peak 2 Peak Gondola
  • I’m still dating Shayne

I did learn how scary it is to fall on a cat track and how embarrassing it is. Tip: get out of the way as fast as you can and watch for fast skiers/boarders.

So, will Shayne take me skiing again? I think so. I do need to go skiing a lot more so I can get better but I have the basics (almost) down. Will you take me skiing (I won’t/don’t yell)?

20130322-075938.jpg

Me at the top of 7th Heaven

To follow my mountain life journey, check back every Wednesday (or sometimes Thursday) and read about my learning adventure. It is okay  to learn to ski at any age. If I can do it, so can you! Please share your skiing tips and comments below. Cheers! 

Leave a Reply

