The Commute (To and From Whistler)

This past weekend I was achieving a new personal goal.  I took an ADR (or Dubbing) workshop in Vancouver. I have a goal to be paid for voiceover work and more specifically, I’d like to be a cartoon octopus. Marcy Goldberg put on this voice workshop (it was run by Randi Reidiger) and I highly recommend training from them (very successful and powerful women).

So, I sacrificed a day on the mountain to learn how to read flaps and perform WALLA noises. The biggest challenge, for me, was getting to and from Vancouver…without a car. I usually plan my trips for when Shayne goes down so I can get a ride. This weekend I was on my own.

Getting back and forth from Vancouver can be challenging if you don’t have a car but here are the many alternative ways that you can get to a from:

  1. Hitchhike. All you need to do is stand at the side of the highway, stick out your thumb and wait. It helps if you look like a clean member of society (maybe, take a shower).
  2. Greyhound. There are many different prices for the same trip. The 2 cheapest ways are: If you want to travel back and forth often, you can buy a book of 20 tickets and it will cost you $14 per ticket OR you can buy it online and print the ticket yourself.
  3. Get  a ride. There may be someone you know, with a car, going to and from the city. Maybe you need to plan your trip around them and chip in for gas, but it’s worth it.
  4. If you have deep pockets, you can take a floatplane. This will cost you more that $160 each way but will get you there the fastest.
Vancouver or Bust

Vancouver or Bust

Whistler is a far enough away  from the city that you can say that you live in the mountains but close enough that you can zip down for the day without feeling too isolated. It helps when you need a vacation and can’t afford to go to Mexico. How often do you travel to “the city” if you don’t live there?

I apologize for the missed post. Someone close to me passed away and I had to re-prioritize my attention. RIP Hart.

To follow my mountain life journey, check back every Wednesday (or sometimes Thursday) and read about my learning adventure. It is okay  to learn to ski at any age. If I can do it, so can you! Please share your skiing tips and comments below. Cheers! 

 

 

Leave a Reply

