Skiing so I can Après?

I did it. I went down a green run. What this means is that I am no longer on the learning hill.

 

Image originally on http://www.chamonet.com

Image originally on http://www.chamonet.com

The “green run” is the easiest slopes at a mountain and are usually wide and groomed, and not that “steep.” It does not mean that the snow is green in colour.

I went up the Fitzsimmons Express… which was neat because it was outside (unlink the gondola which is inclosed) and got off at mid station. I hung out on Whiskey Jack for the morning (from the very top and midstation). I forgot my #1 rule: DON’T LOOK DOWN! I fell but a friend picked me up and I slowly remembered everything that I have learned.

I also learned a few other lessons:

  • When your boot buckle is stuck, do another buckle up in order to undo it. Don’t freak out and tell other skiers your boot is broken because it’s not.
  • Whisky Jack is also a cute bird that hangs out on the mountain.
  • There are many lines to get onto the chairlift. Know where to go (you can ask). It is confusing.

Have you ever been inside a gondola before? Check out this video of me coming down from the top of Whistler:

I also love après. Après refers to socializing over drinks when your ski day is done. I have been Aprèsing for a long time so I guess you can say I’m now pre- Aprèsing. This weekend featured cesars and friends (Thea and Jodie)!

So, now that I’m on the grownup runs and embracing the après I feel like I’m growing up in the ski world. Soon I will try a different run (or maybe 2). What do you suggest I try next?

Image belongs to http://letissierdesigns.com

A Whisky Jack.Image belongs to http://letissierdesigns.com

To follow my skiing journey, check back every Wednesday (or sometimes Thursday) and read about my learning adventure. It is okay  to learn to ski at any age. If I can do it, so can you! Please share your skiing tips and comments below. Cheers! 

Leave a Reply

