Deep Winter: Not Your Grandpa’s Slideshow

Remember in the 90s when your parents or grandparents would come back from a trip,  invite you over, set up the projector and screen and then show you their slides? Well, I remember that very clearly. Since the modernization of trip documentation I have not been to slideshow worth talking about since Baba Leah and Zaida Jack went to Spain about 15 years ago…. until Saturday night.

Since my big move to a small town, I’m always on the hunt for fun events that are worth getting fancied up for. Whistler Blackcomb (and many other sponsors) put on a 72 hour photo challenge called Deep Winter and throw a kick ass party to showcase the pictures (slide show style with music).

The nitty gritty:

  • 6 photographers invited
  • Each had 3 skiers or boarders
  • 72 hours of shooting and editing
  • 1 big party
  • 1 grand prize
  • $20 a ticket
  • Sold Out
  • Fun martinis (with an ice luge)
  • Inspiration to become a better skier

The event was a few hours and the judges name Russell Dalby the winner. From what I remember, all of the entries were breath taking and creative but Dalby’s pictures were all black and white with a very artistic  breath of life, to them.

This is is his entry:

The event promoted the use of Intagram and tagging pictures with #DeepWinter. I managed to share some of  these photos:

Frozen apples.

Frozen apples

Patterns.

Patterns

Giant cheque (well, back of cheque).

Giant cheque (well, back of cheque) -Not shared

As you can see, I too, am a photographer. I apologize for the lack of photos….. I was having too much fun to crack out the iPhone and snap away.

I look forward to this Summer’s photo challenge and feel inspired to take Shayne’s camera on the bunny hill with me. Most likely, I won’t be allowed. I’m sure there will be a link to see the enteries soon, until then you can check out the Deep Winter website. 

To follow my skiing journey, check back every Wednesday (or sometimes Thursday) and read about my learning adventure. It is okay  to learn to ski at any age. If I can do it, so can you! Please share your skiing tips and comments below. Cheers! 

Leave a Reply

