Bend and Snap: Cross Training

Unlike the many lucky souls that live out here, I am not a full fledge ski bum. I have a job and work more than 40 hours a week, which leaves very little time for skiing. Between injuries, the flu and life I do manage to find time to ski. The mountain closes before I get off work so I have to find other ways to stay fit and healthy during the week and my time on the mountain.  You see, I’m in a shape and I’m hoping to modify it. Maybe by writing this blog post I will be held accountable for keeping true to my goals.

In Pemberton I have discovered this great little yoga studio called Tadasana Yoga.  There are other studios and gyms that offer yoga but the classes offered here best compliment with my schedule.  Also, there is a training facility in close proximity to my house called Revolution Fitness and for the next 6 weeks I’ll be ending my work week with Friday night personal training sessions.

Yoga is great for the mind, body and soul and working with a personal trainer will help with…..everything.  Here is what my weekly fitness schedule will be for the next 6 weeks:

Image

On the weekends I will try and ski at least 1 day and go to yoga at least 1 day (there is a 5pm Hot Chocolate après ski yoga class on Saturday and Sunday).

Shayne will be on the road for the next 6 weeks so I have nothing but free time so watch out mind, body and soul because you are about to change!

Care to join me for any classes? I’ll be signing up for unlimited monthly yoga. If you are not in the Pemberton area and want to try out yoga, you can check the Yoga Directory Canada.

To follow my skiing journey, check back every Wednesday (or sometimes Thursday) and Sunday to read about my learning adventures. It is okay to learn to ski at any age. If I can do it, so can you! Please share your skiing tips and comments below. Cheers! 

Leave a Reply

