Day 3 of Skiing: Feeling Stuck

Disclaimer: The art in the post is not for sale and are Blair Kaplan originals. You may pin and share on social sites.

Well, day 3 on the hill I decided that I was ready to try skiing on my own….without lessons and alone. I thought it would be smart to stick to the chair that I knew- the Olympic Chair. It was a beautiful and sunny day and I was sort of ready to take on the mountain.

Image

I was nervous (and tired from NYE celebrations) but eventually I made my way to the chairlift. I got to the top, got off the lift, took many deep breaths and went on my way.

Image

All of a sudden…ZOOM…BOOM. I started skiing really fast and crashed into the tree well/snow around the the well (Note: this is a learning hill).This snow was deep. I checked and I had everything: skis, poles, boots, pants….breath. I chucked my skis out but I couldn’t move. I looked like this:

Image

Every time I would try and move I would sink deeper. An instructor came by and educated me on how to get out. So, after 20 minutes of struggling I pulled myself out by the branches and crawled out. I was scared but felt lucky to be out of there. I slowly skied to the bottom with 1 more fall but felt proud to have not died and skied on my own!

So, when you get stuck in a tree well or powder DO NOT STAND UP. CRAWL AND WIGGLE OUT ON YOUR CHEST OR KNEES. 

Lesson learned.

To follow my skiing journey, check back every Wednesday (or sometimes Thursday) and read about my learning adventure. It is okay  to learn to ski at any age. If I can do it, so can you! Please share your skiing tips and comments below. Cheers! 

One thought on “Day 3 of Skiing: Feeling Stuck

  1. This is amazing. Love the art work. You really need to publish a children’s book! Both Dylan & Devin enjoyed this.

Leave a Reply

