Day 2: The Chairlift Accomplishment

My 2nd day of skiing has come and gone faster than I hopped. I took another Max4 lesson from WhistlerBlackcomb and I feel like that was the right choice. I had a solid instructor named Asa (with an appearance by Ash) and a very fun group.

My group and instructor(s) for the afternoon

My group and instructor(s) for the afternoon

On Day 2 I learned the following:

  • When you are plowing (pizza position) don’t let you tips touch…..it’s like kissing you cousin. I’m not sure why that is, but it makes sense.
  • When getting on a chairlift (‘twas my first time) hold your poles with your inside hand and look over your outside shoulder when getting on.
  • When you fall, make sure to put your skis back on while NOT facing downhill (my first fall).
  • Transferring edges (allowing me to go left and right without plowing).
  • You might get hit by another skier or snowboarder so BE AWARE.
Top: Kissing Cousins Bottom: Correct

Top: Kissing Cousins
Bottom: Correct

I was wearing my new Pow gloves and they were great. My hands were warm and dry after my one and only small bail. I think that might be one of the keys to being happy on the hill….warm and dry hands.

Today, unlike last week, was a big success for me. Last week I took breaks between each run on the “hill” at the carpet. This week I did 3 runs on the carpet and went right to the Olympic Chair (up and down) without stopping or taking a break.  I pushed myself hard and was full of ambition. By having that attitude I was able to get a lot out of today and I cannot wait until the  I’m on the mountain, again. The next time I ride it will be on my own and without a lesson. How many lessons did you take before going out on your own?

Sunday Ski Love on Whistler

Sunday Ski Love on Whistler

To follow my skiing journey, check back every Wednesday (or sometimes Thursday) and read about my learning adventure. It is okay  to learn to ski at any age. If I can do it, so can you! Please share your skiing tips and comments below. Cheers! 

Leave a Reply

