Day 1: Stupid Ski Boots

I love learning. The last time I learned something completely new might have been a few years ago when I took a sword fighting class. This past weekend, at age 27, I began my skiing journey…with a lesson. You should know, I have been on a snowboard a few times (each time being an epic fail) and the decision to learn to ski was influenced by a few factors:

  1. My boyfriend (Shayne) was a sponsored/semi-pro skier
  2. Most of my friends in Whistler/Pemberton ski
  3. Shayne is a tech rep for Nordica and works at Fanatyk Co,
  4. Why not?

So, for Sunday I booked a full day lesson on Whistler. As I got in my ski gear I learned my first lesson: SKI BOOTS F@#KING HURT!

Image

It was hard to walk. It felt like I had no toes. My calves were going to burst.

I sucked it up.  That was the only thing I could do.

I got to my lesson and there were 3 others with me. They were also having sore ski boot feet, so I felt better knowing they were in pain. Once the lesson began we learned how to put on our skis, how to turn, how to get out of our skis, how to stop and the most exhausting of all: how to sidestep up a hill IN SKIS.

Side note: I have athletic educed asthma, am pigeon toed and the only sport I play is yoga.

Side stepping , up hill, in skies nearly killed me. My legs were shaking uncontrollably, it was hard to breath and I had to take a time out. I even called Shayne and almost quit. Shayne and the teacher encouraged me to keep going, after a rest. Jesper, my teach was amazing and deserves a raise for putting up with my winging (word inspired by Jodie, my Aussie friend).

RESTING! Resting was the answer. So, I decided it was ok to take “Blair Breaks.”

We then got to ride the magic carpet (which it like a moving sidewalk on a slight incline), which took us to the top of the hill.  Fun.

This was the best part:  I got to the top of the carpet and down the hill I went and it was SO EASY! Sure, I was in pizza position my first time, but I didn’t fall.

Shayne even made a video of me (coming soon)!

I decided to turn my full day lesson into 2 half days and this Sunday I will be going for lesson #2.  My legs were sore for a few days after…but it was the good type of sore. I’m stoked to shred some pow, one day soon!

Image

To follow my skiing journey, check back every Wednesday (or sometimes Thursday) and read about my learning adventure. It is okay  to learn to ski at any age. If I can do it, so can you! Please share your skiing tips and comments below. Cheers! 

3 thoughts on “Day 1: Stupid Ski Boots

  1. I was searching google images for “ski, boot, pain” and found this photo. I don’t want to alarm you, but your SEO is showing.

Leave a Reply

